Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

Sunday 5 May 6.30pm

Concert: Pascha of Romiosini

Gracepoint Theatre, 161-169 Essex Road, N1 2SN (near Essex Road station)

201905 pascha of romiosini

Fundraising Event for the Church of St Antony & St John the Baptist, Holloway

Tickets are £15 and can be purchased through Aggleiki on 0207 700 0021 OR .

The event is being sponsored by Anthea Lettings

Originating from the time when Byzantium was the eastern part of the Roman Empire, the word "Romiosini" is difficult to define. It denotes the joy and exuberance of the Greek culture, encompassing the Orthodox Faith and even the suffering for that Faith, over many centuries. It is enshrined deep in the soul of one's being, and is the very ethos and essence of "Greekness".

The Romiosini Cultural Association was formed in the town of Paralimni in the Famagusta area of Cyprus. Its emblem is one of the six-winged Angels which guard the Lord's throne in Heaven, as depicted in the mosaics of the dome of Ayia Sophia in Constantinople.

It is a traditional music school, with a large Choir consisting of some sixty members, as well as narrators and solo singers of various ages. There is also a theatrical team and the Association undertakes educational and pilgrimage visits both at home and abroad, offering presentations, lectures, seminars and workshops based on eastern music. All these co-exist alongside the Association's various cultural events, and Romiosini has proudly presented a large and varied repertoire both at home and abroad.

Some of the themes covered were dedications to Constantinople and were hosted by the Ministers of Defence for both the Greek and Cypriot Governments. In the same vein, a concert was held in Constantinople in honour of the present Ecumenical Patriarch, His All Holiness Bartholomeos I.

The performance which will be given on Sunday 5th May, and entitled "The Pascha of Romiosini", entails songs from the different musical cultures of Greece, Cyprus, Asia Minor, the Aegean, Macedonia, Thrace etc. It will include songs tracing back our rich musical heritage throughout the centuries, and will be enhanced by relevant texts, visual presentations and traditional Cypriot dances in costume.

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

28 July 2018 until 22 April

Hidden Treasures: Revealing Broomfield House and Park

3 April until 22 April

Easter Pantomime: Rapunzel

Monday 15 April until Saturday 20 April

Imago Dei: Poetry, music and art

Saturday 27 April and Sunday 28 April

1.00pm - 5.00pm

Exhibition: Reflections on the Sacred

Monday 29 April

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Brickmaking in the Borough of Enfield

Tuesday 30 April until Saturday 4 May

ELODS presents On the Town

Thursday 2 May

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

8.00pm - 11.00pm

*Bowes Park Folk Club: The Mantic Muddlers

Friday 3 May until Monday 6 May

Cogger's Funfair in Broomfield Park

Sunday 12 May

10.00am - 3.00pm

*Forty Hall Farmers' Market

Sunday 19 May until Saturday 25 May

Incognito Theatre presents Tom Jones

Sunday 19 May

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Wednesday 22 May

7.00pm - 8.30pm

Nightingale Knowledge Night: Cheese making

Saturday 22 June

2.00pm - 5.00pm

Palmers Green & Southgate U3A Open Day

Monday 8 July

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Friday 12 July until Sunday 14 July

Park Life Cultural Weekend

Friday 12 July

2.00pm - 4.30pm

Broomfield Strings

Sunday 21 July

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Saturday 31 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Sunday 1 September

11.00am - 7.00pm

Palmers Green Festival

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting