Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

Friday 23 August 7.00pm - 9.00pm

Distant Star: Waveforms Exhibition Launch & Album Release Party

Starfish Loves Coffee, 92 Aldermans Hill, N13 4PP  

201909 distant star

Limited places - please RSVP via www.facebook.com/events/2438479773040882/

Distant Star – Waveforms is a visual companion to Patrick Samuel’s 2nd solo album, Distant Star, which is being released by Tiergarten Records on 16 August 2019.

As an artist with synesthesia, a condition in which one sense is simultaneously perceived as if by other senses as well, Patrick experiences sounds as colour bursts and patterns, and vice versa. It’s something he’s been keen to explore as focal point for an exhibition. In his own words:

“A waveform is a graph that displays the amplitude or level of a sound. It’s the visual representation of something we hear. For me, that’s my synesthesia and I can use it to show how my music correlates with my art. The idea for this exhibition came when I was one day fascinated by the way the buildings and structures on the horizon in Folkestone were being mirrored by the wet beaches of the coastal town. I was struck by how much this reminded me of the waveforms I spent a lot of time gazing at when producing my album. I recorded portions of the lyrics separately to create waveforms and then translated them into abstract landscapes that would also tell something about the songs whilst representing the words from them.”

With Distant Star – Waveforms Patrick explores abstract forms more freely; it’s a step away from what visitors to his exhibitions might have seen before. Abandoning the “rules” of what things should look like, Patrick lets the amplitude and level of each sound he’s working with guide his use of colour, tones and shapes. In a way, this new collection of oil pastel paintings shows what the world he experiences with his autism sounds like.

Join us on the evening of Friday 23rd August at Starfish to celebrate the launch fo this exciting new exhibition and the release of the album.

http://patricksamuel.net/distant-star-waveforms/

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Tuesday 13 August until Sunday 18 August

10.00am - 4.00pm

Look again: An exhibition of paintings and prints by four local women

Thursday 15 August until Sunday 18 August

Divergence - an art exhibition in aid of Solace Women's Aid

Friday 23 August until Sunday 25 August

Divergence - an art exhibition in aid of Solace Women's Aid

Tuesday 27 August

8.30am - 10.00am

*Meeting of Palmers Green Business Network

1.30pm - 3.30pm

*Diabetes Support Group

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Thursday 5 September

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Hatha Yoga class

7.45pm

Talkies Community Cinema: Cold War

Saturday 7 September and Sunday 8 September

XR North London Uprising

Saturday 7 September

9.00am - 4.00pm

*Crafters' Corner at Enfield Charter Market

11.00am - 3.30pm

*Zero Market N22

2.00pm - 3.30pm

*Lego Club for children aged 5 to 12

Sunday 8 September

10.00am - 3.00pm

*Forty Hall Farmers' Market

2.00pm - 3.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Friday 13 September

7.30pm

Talkies Community Cinema: The Favourite

Sunday 15 September

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Live music in Broomfield Conservatory: Marc Harris

Saturday 21 September and Sunday 22 September

Markfield Beam Engine Steam Day

Tuesday 24 September

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Thursday 10 October

7.00pm - 9.00pm

Talk: Trent Park - Secrets of WWII Revealed

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Sunday 10 November

2.00pm - 4.00pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Thursday 12 December until Sunday 15 December

Saint Monica's Players present Cinderella