Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Wednesday 13 February 8.00pm

Hornsey Historical Society: The History of the Regent's Canal

Crouch End Union Church & Community Centre, Weston Park, N8 9PX  

image

Roger Squires will give an illustrated talk about the history of Regent’s Canal and provide a visual tour of the current waterway.

The Regent’s Canal received its Act of Parliament in 1811 . Construction started at Paddington (Little Venice) and got as far as Camden in 1815, when the money ran out. Works restarted in 1816, using Exchequer Loan Funds, with a further act, and it finally opened to Limehouse in August 1820. The Regent’s Canal Company subsequently amalgamated with the Grand Junction Canal Company and ultimately became part of the more extensive Grand Union Canal.

Dr Roger Squires is a trustee of the London Canal Museum at King’s Cross. He is also the Secretary of the local branch of the Inland Waterways and a member of St Pancras Cruising Club.

Doors open at 7.30pm for the sale of refreshments and publications and close at 8pm. The main doors have to be closed at that time for security reasons, so anyone arriving after then will be unable to gain access.

A donation of £2 is requested from non-members.

Image of Regents Canal Wikimedia Commons

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

3 April until 4 May

Theatre: Intra Muros

24 April until 18 May

Theatre: Hell Yes I'm Tough Enough

9 May until 8 June

Theatre: The Last Temptation of Boris Johnson

Saturday 27 April and Sunday 28 April

1.00pm - 5.00pm

Exhibition: Reflections on the Sacred

Monday 29 April

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Brickmaking in the Borough of Enfield

Tuesday 30 April until Saturday 4 May

ELODS presents On the Town

Thursday 2 May

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

8.00pm - 11.00pm

*Bowes Park Folk Club: The Mantic Muddlers

Friday 3 May until Monday 6 May

Cogger's Funfair in Broomfield Park

Sunday 12 May

10.00am - 3.00pm

*Forty Hall Farmers' Market

Sunday 19 May until Saturday 25 May

Incognito Theatre presents Tom Jones

Sunday 19 May

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Wednesday 22 May

7.00pm - 8.30pm

Nightingale Knowledge Night: Cheese making

Sunday 26 May

2.00pm - 3.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Wednesday 5 June

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Palmers Green Ward Forum

Saturday 22 June

2.00pm - 5.00pm

Palmers Green & Southgate U3A Open Day

Monday 8 July

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Friday 12 July until Sunday 14 July

Park Life Cultural Weekend

Friday 12 July

2.00pm - 4.30pm

Broomfield Strings

Sunday 21 July

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Saturday 31 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Sunday 1 September

11.00am - 7.00pm

Palmers Green Festival

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting