Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Monday 18 February 7.00pm

Meeting: Modern Slavery is Closer than you Think

Winchmore Hill United Reformed Church, 77 Compton Road, N21 3NU  

201902 modern slavery

Find out what modern slavery is and how to spot the signs on our doorstep, as well as what to do about it. 

With Dan Pratt, Antislavery Co-ordinator for the Eastern Baptist Association togetherfree.org.uk

Modern slavery can include sexual exploitation, forced labour, debt bondage, domestic servitude, forced marriage, forced crime, and drug crime.  In Enfield, this could include those employed in car washes, nail bars, construction, catering as well as in the sex trade. 

Victims of modern slavery are by definition extremely vulnerable as they might have very basic or little English, not have access to a mobile phone, their ID documents are kept by the traffickers, they will have no money or very little money, threats of violence are made against them or their family, they will not know how to ask for help or who to turn to for help, they may suffer from mental ill health, and they may even be children.

This evening is our chance to find out more about what modern slavery is and how to spot the signs on our doorstep, as well as what to do about it.  The evening will be facilitated by the Revd Dr Dan Pratt, a Baptist Minister working for Together Free, a Baptist based network working with local communities and churches.  

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Friday 23 August until Sunday 25 August

Divergence - an art exhibition in aid of Solace Women's Aid

Thursday 5 September

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Hatha Yoga class

7.45pm

Talkies Community Cinema: Cold War

Friday 6 September

11.00am - 4.00pm

Meridian Water: Find out more

Saturday 7 September and Sunday 8 September

XR North London Uprising

Friday 13 September

7.30pm

Talkies Community Cinema: The Favourite

Sunday 15 September

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Live music in Broomfield Conservatory: Marc Harris

Saturday 21 September and Sunday 22 September

Markfield Beam Engine Steam Day

Saturday 21 September

7.00pm - 10.30pm

Charity Race Night in aid of Kidney Research UK

Sunday 22 September

11.00am - 6.00pm

2019 Haringey Food & Drink Festival

Tuesday 24 September

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Thursday 10 October

7.00pm - 9.00pm

Talk: Trent Park - Secrets of WWII Revealed

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Sunday 10 November

2.00pm - 4.00pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Thursday 12 December until Sunday 15 December

Saint Monica's Players present Cinderella