Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Monday 18 February 7.00pm

Meeting: Modern Slavery is Closer than you Think

Winchmore Hill United Reformed Church, 77 Compton Road, N21 3NU  

201902 modern slavery

Find out what modern slavery is and how to spot the signs on our doorstep, as well as what to do about it. 

With Dan Pratt, Antislavery Co-ordinator for the Eastern Baptist Association togetherfree.org.uk

Modern slavery can include sexual exploitation, forced labour, debt bondage, domestic servitude, forced marriage, forced crime, and drug crime.  In Enfield, this could include those employed in car washes, nail bars, construction, catering as well as in the sex trade. 

Victims of modern slavery are by definition extremely vulnerable as they might have very basic or little English, not have access to a mobile phone, their ID documents are kept by the traffickers, they will have no money or very little money, threats of violence are made against them or their family, they will not know how to ask for help or who to turn to for help, they may suffer from mental ill health, and they may even be children.

This evening is our chance to find out more about what modern slavery is and how to spot the signs on our doorstep, as well as what to do about it.  The evening will be facilitated by the Revd Dr Dan Pratt, a Baptist Minister working for Together Free, a Baptist based network working with local communities and churches.  

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

28 July 2018 until 22 April

Hidden Treasures: Revealing Broomfield House and Park

3 April until 22 April

Easter Pantomime: Rapunzel

Monday 15 April until Saturday 20 April

Imago Dei: Poetry, music and art

Saturday 27 April and Sunday 28 April

1.00pm - 5.00pm

Exhibition: Reflections on the Sacred

Monday 29 April

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Brickmaking in the Borough of Enfield

Tuesday 30 April until Saturday 4 May

ELODS presents On the Town

Thursday 2 May

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

8.00pm - 11.00pm

*Bowes Park Folk Club: The Mantic Muddlers

Friday 3 May until Monday 6 May

Cogger's Funfair in Broomfield Park

Sunday 12 May

10.00am - 3.00pm

*Forty Hall Farmers' Market

Sunday 19 May until Saturday 25 May

Incognito Theatre presents Tom Jones

Sunday 19 May

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Wednesday 22 May

7.00pm - 8.30pm

Nightingale Knowledge Night: Cheese making

Wednesday 5 June

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Palmers Green Ward Forum

Saturday 22 June

2.00pm - 5.00pm

Palmers Green & Southgate U3A Open Day

Monday 8 July

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Friday 12 July until Sunday 14 July

Park Life Cultural Weekend

Friday 12 July

2.00pm - 4.30pm

Broomfield Strings

Sunday 21 July

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Saturday 31 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Sunday 1 September

11.00am - 7.00pm

Palmers Green Festival

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting