Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Tuesday 19 February 7.30pm

Muswell Hill Sustainability Group: Film - What Are We Waiting For?

Muswell Hill Methodist Church, 28 Pages Lane, N10 1PP  

MHSG presents Qu’est-ce qu’on attend? (‘What are we waiting for?’) .

The star of this  film is a Ungersheim, and agricultural and former mining village in the Alsace in north-eastern France. It’s home to a remarkable Mayor, some extraordinary people doing extraordinary things, and to an experiment in what transition to a low carbon economy can achieve, one that is increasingly attracting attention from around the world.

Since 2009 the local council has led an ambitious move away from fossil fuels and industrial farming towards an economy based on renewable energy, energy efficiency, and local chemical-free food production through small locally-based enterprises. A large solar farm, with industrial units for small businesses beneath, has been developed on old slag heaps. A local currency – the Radish – is in circulation. School meals come from local organic sources. In What are we waiting for? councillors, farmers, builders and traders show what has been achieved, and talk about how it has been done.

All are welcome to watch this inspirational film by Marie-Monique Robin. Admission free, refreshments.

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Friday 23 August until Sunday 25 August

Divergence - an art exhibition in aid of Solace Women's Aid

Wednesday 28 August

2.30pm

Jaytalks: Enfield entertains

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Thursday 5 September

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Hatha Yoga class

7.45pm

Talkies Community Cinema: Cold War

Saturday 7 September and Sunday 8 September

XR North London Uprising

Saturday 7 September

9.00am - 4.00pm

*Crafters' Corner at Enfield Charter Market

11.00am - 3.30pm

*Zero Market N22

2.00pm - 3.30pm

*Lego Club for children aged 5 to 12

Sunday 8 September

10.00am - 3.00pm

*Forty Hall Farmers' Market

2.00pm - 3.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Friday 13 September

7.30pm

Talkies Community Cinema: The Favourite

Sunday 15 September

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Live music in Broomfield Conservatory: Marc Harris

Saturday 21 September and Sunday 22 September

Markfield Beam Engine Steam Day

Tuesday 24 September

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Thursday 10 October

7.00pm - 9.00pm

Talk: Trent Park - Secrets of WWII Revealed

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Sunday 10 November

2.00pm - 4.00pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Thursday 12 December until Sunday 15 December

Saint Monica's Players present Cinderella