Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Saturday 23 March 2.00pm

SDCT Open Meeting: The work of William Morris in Southgate

Christ Church, The Green, Southgate, N14 7EG  

201903 sdct open meeting

This Open Meeting will be a bit different, as we will have two excellent speakers and a whole afternoon devoted to William Morris, the English Arts and Crafts designer and early socialist. Our speakers are: Fr Chrichton Limbert, Vicar, Christ Church Southgate and Ainsley Vinall, Assistant Curator, William Morris Gallery.

There is a strong local connection with William Morris, so our afternoon will include a tour by Chrichton of the Grade II* listed Christ Church, including the impressive Pre-Raphaelite stained glass windows. These stained glass windows were produced by William Morris’ company and incorporate designs by William Morris, Burne Jones and Rossetti. In case you did not know, the image of St. Matthew is reputed to be a self-portrait of Morris.

Ainsley will talk about William Morris himself and the stained glass produced by Morris & Co. He will also tell us about the history behind the William Morris Gallery, which was opened in 1950 by Prime Minister Clement Attlee. The gallery is located in Walthamstow at Morris' family home from 1848 to 1856, itself a substantial Grade II* listed Georgian dwelling.

The gallery was reopened in 2012 after a major redevelopment, and is an award winning museum. We intend to arrange a tour at a later date to see the impressive collection.

Everyone is welcome: entry is free for members, and only £2 for non-members.

Time & venue: Please note different venue and start time!

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

5 April until 28 July

Animatograph:!How cinema was born in Haringey

9 May until 8 June

Theatre: The Last Temptation of Boris Johnson

Sunday 19 May until Saturday 25 May

Incognito Theatre presents Tom Jones

Tuesday 21 May until Saturday 25 May

Chickenshed: Crime of the Century

Saturday 25 May until Monday 27 May

10.00am - 5.00pm

British Cactus & Succulent Society Lea Valley: Annual Show

Tuesday 28 May and Wednesday 29 May

7.45pm

Theatre: The Trials of Oscar Wilde

Wednesday 5 June until Saturday 8 June

7.30pm

SMP present Much Ado About Nothing

Saturday 8 June and Sunday 9 June

7.30pm

FFBOS presents A Spoonfull of Stiles & Drewe

Monday 10 June

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Thursday 13 June

8.00pm - 10.00pm

*Enfield Art Circle Monthly Meeting

8.00pm - 10.00pm

*North London Humanists

Wednesday 19 June until Saturday 22 June

Southgate Opera present Princess Ida

Thursday 20 June

7.00pm - 9.00pm

2-week course: Crochet for beginners

Monday 8 July

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Friday 12 July until Sunday 14 July

Park Life Arts Weekend

Sunday 21 July

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019

Sunday 28 July

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Talk on cacti in Broomfield Conservatory

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Saturday 31 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Sunday 1 September

11.00am - 7.00pm

Palmers Green Festival

12.00pm - 5.00pm

Plant Sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Sunday 15 September

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Live music in Broomfield Conservatory: Marc Harris

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Sunday 10 November

2.00pm - 4.00pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Thursday 12 December until Sunday 15 December

Saint Monica's Players present Cinderella