Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Sunday 4 November until Sunday 11 November

Southgate Remembers: A Week of Reflection and Remembrance

Christ Church, The Green, Southgate, N14 7EG  

southgate remembers nov 2018

Christ Church Southgate in Waterfall Road will be hosting “Southgate Remembers” from Sunday 4th November to Sunday 11th November 2018. 

This is a week of reflection and remembrance, with displays and exhibits, to mark the 100th anniversary of the end of WW1.

Including an installation of 10 silhouette soldiers, awarded by the Armed Forces Covenant Trust Fund, that are “There But Not There”

Church open to visitors from 9 am to 7.30 pm Monday 5th November - Sunday 11th November. Admission free


Featured Services and Events

Sunday 4th November at 6.30 pm
All Souls Sung Requiem Mass featuring the music of Faure

Wednesday 7th November at 12 noon
Illustrated talk on WW1 posters

Thursday 8th November at 7.30 pm
Evening of WW1 music and readings, including the words of local men and women

Saturday 10th November at 7.30 pm
Vigil Service of prayer and reading for the Eve of the Armistice

Sunday 11th November at 10.30 am
Service of Remembrance, including two minutes silence and laying of wreaths, followed by Bring and Share lunch in Church House

Sunday 11th November at 6.30 pm
Sung Eucharist for Remembrance


Things to see and do

  • Explore the stories behind some of the names on our war memorial, and see where they lived
  • The soldiers that are “There But Not There”
  • Floral and other craft displays by the local community, including children
  • Exhibiton of original WW1 posters
  • Display of local artefacts and memorabilia
  • Book of Remembrance to sign with an opportunity to light a candle

 
www.christchurch-southgate.org 

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

28 July until 22 April 2019

Hidden Treasures: Revealing Broomfield House and Park

7 September until 20 November

Spotlight on Asylum Festival and Exhibition

29 September until 27 January 2019

Exhibition: The Art of the Gestetner

14 October until 31 March 2019

Black Georgian Londoners: Portraits, People and Perceptions

27 October until 12 December

Cards for Good Causes Charity Christmas Card Shop

29 October until 25 November

Enfield Camera Club Exhibition 2018

21 November until 5 January 2019

Chickenshed presents A Christmas Carol

29 November until 6 January 2019

Beauty and the Beast

6 December until 15 December

London Pantomimers present Wizard of Oz - The Pantomime

Monday 26 November until Sunday 2 December

FFBOS presents Seussical - The Musical

Friday 30 November until Sunday 2 December

Christmas Fayres at Forty Hall

Saturday 1 December until Monday 10 December

3.00pm - 5.30pm

TAB Christmas Tree Festival

Wednesday 5 December

7.30pm

Palmers Green Ward Forum

Thursday 6 December until Sunday 9 December

London Pantomimers present The Wizard of Oz

Tuesday 11 December until Saturday 15 December

London Pantomimers present The Wizard of Oz

Friday 14 December

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Saturday 15 December

11.00am - 3.00pm

Find Santa's Elves

12.00pm - 8.00pm

N21 Winter Festival

7.30pm

Enfield Choral Society Christmas Concert

Tuesday 18 December

5.00pm - 6.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Wednesday 12 June

Test event