Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Sunday 4 November 2018 until Sunday 11 November 2018

Southgate Remembers: A Week of Reflection and Remembrance

Christ Church, The Green, Southgate, N14 7EG  

southgate remembers nov 2018

Christ Church Southgate in Waterfall Road will be hosting “Southgate Remembers” from Sunday 4th November to Sunday 11th November 2018. 

This is a week of reflection and remembrance, with displays and exhibits, to mark the 100th anniversary of the end of WW1.

Including an installation of 10 silhouette soldiers, awarded by the Armed Forces Covenant Trust Fund, that are “There But Not There”

Church open to visitors from 9 am to 7.30 pm Monday 5th November - Sunday 11th November. Admission free


Featured Services and Events

Sunday 4th November at 6.30 pm
All Souls Sung Requiem Mass featuring the music of Faure

Wednesday 7th November at 12 noon
Illustrated talk on WW1 posters

Thursday 8th November at 7.30 pm
Evening of WW1 music and readings, including the words of local men and women

Saturday 10th November at 7.30 pm
Vigil Service of prayer and reading for the Eve of the Armistice

Sunday 11th November at 10.30 am
Service of Remembrance, including two minutes silence and laying of wreaths, followed by Bring and Share lunch in Church House

Sunday 11th November at 6.30 pm
Sung Eucharist for Remembrance


Things to see and do

  • Explore the stories behind some of the names on our war memorial, and see where they lived
  • The soldiers that are “There But Not There”
  • Floral and other craft displays by the local community, including children
  • Exhibiton of original WW1 posters
  • Display of local artefacts and memorabilia
  • Book of Remembrance to sign with an opportunity to light a candle

 
www.christchurch-southgate.org 

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

28 July 2018 until 22 April

Hidden Treasures: Revealing Broomfield House and Park

3 April until 22 April

Easter Pantomime: Rapunzel

Saturday 27 April and Sunday 28 April

1.00pm - 5.00pm

Exhibition: Reflections on the Sacred

Monday 29 April

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Brickmaking in the Borough of Enfield

Tuesday 30 April until Saturday 4 May

ELODS presents On the Town

Thursday 2 May

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

8.00pm - 11.00pm

*Bowes Park Folk Club: The Mantic Muddlers

Friday 3 May until Monday 6 May

Cogger's Funfair in Broomfield Park

Sunday 12 May

10.00am - 3.00pm

*Forty Hall Farmers' Market

Sunday 19 May until Saturday 25 May

Incognito Theatre presents Tom Jones

Sunday 19 May

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Wednesday 22 May

7.00pm - 8.30pm

Nightingale Knowledge Night: Cheese making

Wednesday 5 June

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Palmers Green Ward Forum

Saturday 22 June

2.00pm - 5.00pm

Palmers Green & Southgate U3A Open Day

Monday 8 July

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Friday 12 July until Sunday 14 July

Park Life Cultural Weekend

Friday 12 July

2.00pm - 4.30pm

Broomfield Strings

Sunday 21 July

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Saturday 31 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Sunday 1 September

11.00am - 7.00pm

Palmers Green Festival

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting