Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Monday 21 January 8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Walking in London

Jubilee Hall, 2 Parsonage Lane, Enfield, EN2 0AJ  

logo

An illustrated talk by Peter Aylmer. London is a great place for walkers, if you know where to look—and if you know what to look for, once you get there. Peter’s guidebook Walking in London, published by Cicerone Press, deliberately seeks out some of the 13,000 species that inhabit its parks and gardens, rivers and heaths—the London Wildlife Trust helped Peter put the guide together. But that diversity couldn’t be possible without a wide range of open spaces, and Peter will also tell of how Londoners created arguably the greenest large city on the planet, often in the face of opposition from the powerful.

Peter is chair of the London group of the Long Distance Walkers Association. He brings a wide variety of perspectives and comparisons to walking in London, having walked most of England’s National Trails and created his own walks from south to north of each of Wales, England and Scotland. He is also the author of the Cicerone guide Walking in Essex. Joint talk with EHHS

A regular programme of talks is arranged by the Enfield Society. These are free to members and non-members are welcome to attend for a modest charge (typically £1 per meeting). Refreshments will be available and our sales counter will be open. Jubilee Hall, 2 Parsonage Lane, is near the junction with Chase Side and there is an access ramp for wheelchairs.

For details of future talks and walks visit enfieldsociety.org.uk/calendar

 

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

5 April until 28 July

Animatograph:!How cinema was born in Haringey

1 June until 23 June

Stroud Green Festival

13 June until 27 June

The Windrush Festival

22 June until 28 June

The Lamb Arts Festival

8 July until 3 August

Exhibition: Expressions of Courage

20 July until 19 April 2020

Exhibition: Enfield at War 1939-45

Wednesday 19 June until Saturday 22 June

Southgate Opera present Princess Ida

Monday 8 July

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Thursday 11 July and Friday 12 July

Face Front Fest: The Myth of Marvo's Millions

Thursday 11 July

8.00pm - 10.00pm

*North London Humanists

Friday 12 July until Sunday 14 July

Park Life Arts Weekend

Sunday 14 July until Saturday 20 July

Incognito Theatre presents Strangers on a Train

Sunday 21 July

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

2.00pm

Jaywalks:Southgate

2.00pm - 4.30pm

Broomfield Strings

Wednesday 24 July

2.30pm

Jaytalks: Early Enfield

Thursday 25 July until Tuesday 16 March

Face Front Fest: Between the Wi and the Fi

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019

Saturday 3 August

2.00pm - 4.00pm

Week 1 of Crochet for Beginners course

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Saturday 31 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Sunday 1 September

11.00am - 7.00pm

Palmers Green Festival

12.00pm - 5.00pm

Plant Sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Saturday 14 September

9.00am - 4.00pm

Antique, Vintage and Collectors Fair

Sunday 15 September

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Live music in Broomfield Conservatory: Marc Harris

Friday 20 September

7.00pm

Nightingale Cancer Support Charity Ball

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Sunday 10 November

2.00pm - 4.00pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Thursday 12 December until Sunday 15 December

Saint Monica's Players present Cinderella