Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

Monday 21 January 8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Walking in London

Jubilee Hall, 2 Parsonage Lane, Enfield, EN2 0AJ  

logo

An illustrated talk by Peter Aylmer. London is a great place for walkers, if you know where to look—and if you know what to look for, once you get there. Peter’s guidebook Walking in London, published by Cicerone Press, deliberately seeks out some of the 13,000 species that inhabit its parks and gardens, rivers and heaths—the London Wildlife Trust helped Peter put the guide together. But that diversity couldn’t be possible without a wide range of open spaces, and Peter will also tell of how Londoners created arguably the greenest large city on the planet, often in the face of opposition from the powerful.

Peter is chair of the London group of the Long Distance Walkers Association. He brings a wide variety of perspectives and comparisons to walking in London, having walked most of England’s National Trails and created his own walks from south to north of each of Wales, England and Scotland. He is also the author of the Cicerone guide Walking in Essex. Joint talk with EHHS

A regular programme of talks is arranged by the Enfield Society. These are free to members and non-members are welcome to attend for a modest charge (typically £1 per meeting). Refreshments will be available and our sales counter will be open. Jubilee Hall, 2 Parsonage Lane, is near the junction with Chase Side and there is an access ramp for wheelchairs.

For details of future talks and walks visit enfieldsociety.org.uk/calendar

 

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Thursday 17 January until Sunday 20 January

St Monica's Players: Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs

Thursday 17 January

4.00pm - 7.00pm

*Dr Bike bike checks

6.30pm

Meeting of the Pymmes Brookers

6.30pm - 7.45pm

*Pregnancy Yoga

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Southgate Ward Forum

Saturday 19 January

10.00am - 3.30pm

*Palmers Greenery Community Café open

Sunday 20 January until Saturday 26 January

Incognito Theatre present An Evening with Gary Lineker

Monday 21 January

12.30pm - 1.30pm

*Monday Mindful Arts Café

5.00pm - 6.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

7.45pm - 10.00pm

*Edmonton Camera Club

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Walking in London

Thursday 24 January

10.30am

Art and Coffee Morning: The Rise of Impressionism

4.00pm - 7.00pm

*Dr Bike bike checks

6.30pm - 7.45pm

*Pregnancy Yoga

7.30pm - 10.00pm

Quiz Night

Wednesday 30 January

2.30pm - 3.30pm

Save a Crust - free cookery workshop

Friday 1 February

2.00pm - 3.30pm

*Lego Club for children aged 5 to 12

7.30pm

SSRC Barn Dance

Sunday 3 February

11.00am - 4.00pm

*Myddleton Road Market

Tuesday 12 February

1.00pm - 1.30pm

*Lunchtime Museum Collections Talk

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Historical Association Talk

Saturday 16 February

5.00pm - 6.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Monday 18 February

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Saturday 23 February

1.00pm - 3.00pm

Colour therapy workshop with artist Patrick Samuel

Tuesday 26 February

1.00pm - 3.00pm

Cycle Route Guided Ride

Wednesday 27 February

10.00am - 12.30pm

Introduction to Volunteering Workshop

Tuesday 12 March

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Historical Association Talk

Thursday 14 March

10.00am - 12.30pm

Introduction to Volunteering Workshop

Sunday 24 March

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Friday 29 March

5.00pm

David Baddiel's Animalcolm

Tuesday 9 April

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Historical Association Talk