Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Friday 17 May 7.30pm

Talkies Community Cinema: Disobedience

Bounds Green Bowling & Tennis Club, Goring Road, N11 2DD  

201905 disobedience poster

From Sebastián Lelio, writer-director of the Academy Award-winning A FANTASTIC WOMAN, DISOBEDIENCE is a timely and emotionally powerful tale set at the crossroads of tradition and modernity, of personal desires and the demands of faith.

When her estranged rabbi father suddenly passes away, Ronit (played by Oscar-winner and co-producer Rachel Weisz) returns from New York to the north London Orthodox Jewish community that rejected her years previously after a scandalous transgression. Ronit’s presence immediately courts further controversy when she runs into Esti (Rachel McAdams), the wife of her strictly religious old friend Dovid (Alessandro Nivola) and the woman for whom she shared an illicit attraction in their childhood. This happy reunion soon reignites the two women’s burning, long-unrequited passions, an act of defiance that could alter the course of their lives forever.

Based on the provocative novel by bestselling author Naomi Alderman and co-written by Rebecca Lenkiewicz, DISOBEDIENCE is a critically acclaimed romantic drama that explores the fraught boundaries between spiritual devotion and sexuality.

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

Other upcoming Talkies events Click on names for details

Friday 30 August e Jungle Book Broomfield Park
Thursday 5 September Cold War Dugdale Centre, Enfield Town, EN2 6DS
Friday 13 September The Favourite Bounds Green Bowling & Tennis Club, Goring Road, N11 2DD
Saturday 28 September The Wife Waterhouse Hall, 77 Compton Road, Winchmore Hill, N21 3NU
Thursday 3 October Blindspotting Dugdale Centre, Enfield Town, EN2 6DS
 

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Friday 23 August until Sunday 25 August

Divergence - an art exhibition in aid of Solace Women's Aid

Thursday 5 September

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Hatha Yoga class

7.45pm

Talkies Community Cinema: Cold War

Friday 6 September

11.00am - 4.00pm

Meridian Water: Find out more

Saturday 7 September and Sunday 8 September

XR North London Uprising

Friday 13 September

7.30pm

Talkies Community Cinema: The Favourite

Sunday 15 September

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Live music in Broomfield Conservatory: Marc Harris

Saturday 21 September and Sunday 22 September

Markfield Beam Engine Steam Day

Saturday 21 September

7.00pm - 10.30pm

Charity Race Night in aid of Kidney Research UK

Sunday 22 September

11.00am - 6.00pm

2019 Haringey Food & Drink Festival

Tuesday 24 September

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Thursday 10 October

7.00pm - 9.00pm

Talk: Trent Park - Secrets of WWII Revealed

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Sunday 10 November

2.00pm - 4.00pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Thursday 12 December until Sunday 15 December

Saint Monica's Players present Cinderella