Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Friday 8 March 7.30pm

Talkies Community Cinema: London Unplugged

Bounds Green Bowling & Tennis Club, Goring Road, N11 2DD  

HERE 2019 oblong

201903 london unplugged

Introduced and Q&A from Nick Cohen (Director) and David Cohen (Producer).

London Unplugged is an anthology film about modern Londoners, comprising eleven shorts from a largely female-led talent pool of emerging filmmakers. Exploring the themes of isolation, asylum, unmanageable rents and identity, London Unplugged boasts a stellar British cast including Juliet Stevenson, Imogen Stubbs, Poppy Miller, Ivanno Jeremiah and Bruce Payne.

The film was born at the London Film School, the brain child of alumna Qi Zhang, also one of the short’s directors, and Bafta-nominated producer, David Cohen. Zhang and Cohen resolved to create a tapestry of London as it is experienced right now; as one of the most expensive, extraordinary, extreme cities in the world.

“Variously romantic…and magical” Total Film

Many of the stories derive from real world testimony, through research with London frontline organisations; the Migrant Resource Centre, Refugee Journalist Project and Four Corners Film, the Bethnal Green filmmaking charity. This authenticity gives the film a sense of ‘London-as-lived’.

“Cheerfully diverse… A gratifying number of the tales are women-led” Sight & Sound

The film also showcases two adaptions by classic female authors, written when they were young, new voices struggling in London around the time of suffrage; Virginia Woolf’s ‘Kew Gardens’ and Katherine Mansfield’s ‘Pictures’. Nine of the short films’ directors are female.

Supervising director, Nicholas Cohen, curated the films with a journey from east to west London, threaded together by real-life aspiring athlete, Yourlance Bryce-Richards, whose commentary addresses the questions facing every Londoner today; how do you find meaning or connection in this vast, costly city?

“Strangely moving and tense. Wonderful central performances and beautifully put together” Stephen Fry

London Unplugged, which premiered at the East End Film Festival 2018, comprises ‘Dog Days’ (Ivanno Jeremiah), ‘Felines’ (Juliet Stevenson), ‘Unchosen’ (Poppy Miller), ‘In English’, ‘Club Drunk’, ‘Mudan Blossom’, ‘Pictures’, ‘Little Sarah’s Big Adventure’, ‘Shopping’ (Bruce Payne), ‘The Door To’ and ‘Kew Gardens’ (Imogen Stubbs).

Stylish, offbeat and a little magical” Mark Kermode (on ‘Dog Days’, London Unplugged’s opening short)

 
 
 
 
Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

Other upcoming Talkies events Click on names for details

Thursday 25 April Like Father, Like Son Dugdale Centre, Enfield Town, EN2 6DS
Thursday 9 May Belle Dugdale Centre, Enfield Town, EN2 6DS
Friday 17 May Disobedience Bounds Green Bowling & Tennis Club, Goring Road, N11 2DD
Thursday 6 June Son of the Bride Dugdale Centre, Enfield Town, EN2 6DS
Saturday 15 June Blackkklansman Waterhouse Hall, 77 Compton Road, Winchmore Hill, N21 3NU
 

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

28 July 2018 until 22 April

Hidden Treasures: Revealing Broomfield House and Park

3 April until 22 April

Easter Pantomime: Rapunzel

Monday 15 April until Saturday 20 April

Imago Dei: Poetry, music and art

Saturday 27 April and Sunday 28 April

1.00pm - 5.00pm

Exhibition: Reflections on the Sacred

Monday 29 April

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Brickmaking in the Borough of Enfield

Tuesday 30 April until Saturday 4 May

ELODS presents On the Town

Thursday 2 May

10.00am - 12.00pm

*Tea & Chatter Morning

8.00pm - 11.00pm

*Bowes Park Folk Club: The Mantic Muddlers

Friday 3 May until Monday 6 May

Cogger's Funfair in Broomfield Park

Sunday 12 May

10.00am - 3.00pm

*Forty Hall Farmers' Market

Sunday 19 May until Saturday 25 May

Incognito Theatre presents Tom Jones

Sunday 19 May

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Wednesday 22 May

7.00pm - 8.30pm

Nightingale Knowledge Night: Cheese making

Wednesday 5 June

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Palmers Green Ward Forum

Saturday 22 June

2.00pm - 5.00pm

Palmers Green & Southgate U3A Open Day

Monday 8 July

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting

Friday 12 July until Sunday 14 July

Park Life Cultural Weekend

Friday 12 July

2.00pm - 4.30pm

Broomfield Strings

Sunday 21 July

1.30pm - 5.30pm

Winchmore Hill Creative Writing Group

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019

Thursday 29 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Saturday 31 August

5.00pm

Open-air theatre: Gangsta Granny

Sunday 1 September

11.00am - 7.00pm

Palmers Green Festival

Thursday 17 October

7.30pm - 9.00pm

Friends of Firs Farm public meeting