Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Thursday 28 November 2019 10.30am

Talk: The Two Gustav's - Mahler and Klimt

St Paul's Centre, 102a Church St, EN2 6AR  

arts society enfield

DateLecture
28 November 2019

The Two Gustav's: Mahler and Klimt

Gustav Klimt and his colleagues broke away from the imperially endorsed art institutions in Vienna in 1897 and founded the Secession. That was the same year that Gustav Mahler arrived to take charge of the Opera House in the city. Comparing these two totemic fin de siècle talents, this lecture places Klimt and Mahler in context, asking what fundamentally links and, indeed, divides them.

Gavin Plumley is a writer and broadcaster, appearing on BBC Radio 3, BBC Radio 4 and contributing to The Independent on Sunday and The Guardian. He lectures widely about the culture of Central Europe during the 19th and 20th centuries, including to the National Gallery, the British Museum, the V&A, the Southbank Centre, the Tate and the Neue Galerie, New York, as well as for History of Art societies and The Art Fund.

12 December 2019 Is Christmas in Good Taste?

Lectures are held at the St Paul’s Community Centre Church Street Enfield EN2 6AR on the last Thursday morning of each month except December when it is earlier (No meeting in August).

  • Coffee 10am – 10:30am
  • Notices 10:35 am
  • Lecture 10:40 am

Guests are welcome at £6.00 per head

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

An asterisk (*) denotes an event that is repeated every week/fortnight/month.

Exhibitions and longer runs

20 July 2019 until 19 April

Exhibition: Enfield at War 1939-45 (plus a programme of linked events and talks)

13 January until 29 May

Exhibition: Lost Enfield

14 February until 30 April

They Came Before Us exhibition: Can't Be What You Can't See

Wednesday 12 February until Saturday 22 February

Chickenshed: Monolog3 (not every day)

Monday 24 February

7.00pm - 8.45pm

London’s New River – neither new nor a river

Friday 28 February until Sunday 1 March

Bounds Green Window Show

Tuesday 3 March

8.00pm - 10.00pm

*Meeting of the Enfield Transport Circle

Sunday 8 March

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Music and Poetry for the Planet

Wednesday 11 March

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Sunday 15 March until Saturday 21 March

Incognito Theatre presents Charley's Aunt by Brandon Thomas

Tuesday 17 March

2.00pm - 3.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Monday 23 March

6.00pm - 7.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Thursday 2 April until Sunday 19 April

The Dugdale Theatre presents Goldilocks - starring the Three Bears (not every day)

Saturday 18 April

7.15pm

Poetry in Palmers Green

Sunday 19 April

2.30pm - 4.30pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Monday 20 April

9.30am - 12.30pm, 1.00pm - 4.30pm

Big Dig Day in the Broomfield Park Long Border

Thursday 14 May

10.00am - 2.00pm

Planning for Later Life Awareness Session

Sunday 17 May

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Music in the Conservatory

Saturday 23 May until Monday 25 May

9.00am - 6.00pm

The Enfield Pageant of Motoring

Saturday 11 July

10.00am - 7.00pm

Fancy Fair on Winchmore Hill Green

Saturday 25 July

Livestock Music Festival