Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Tuesday 28 May 2019 and Wednesday 29 May 7.45pm

Theatre: The Trials of Oscar Wilde

Dugdale Centre, Enfield Town, EN2 6DS  

image

Following a sell-out west End run, European Arts Company returns with this brilliant dramatisation of the libel and criminal trials of Oscar Wilde, written by his grandson Merlin Holland. 

Thursday 14 February 1895 was the triumphant opening night of The Importance of Being Earnest and the zenith of Wilde's career. Less than 100 days later, he found himself a common prisoner sentenced to two years hard labour. So what happened during the trials and what did Wilde say? Was he persecuted or the author of his own downfall? Using the actual words spoken in court, we can feel what it was like to be in the company of a flawed genius - as this less than ideal husband is suddenly reduced to a man of no importance.

‘A beguiling Wilde in a smart play that reveals the establishment at its worst’ - The Guardian ★★★★

‘Please don’t miss The Trials of Oscar Wilde - utterly compelling and heart-rending. Brilliant ensemble acting. GO!!!’ - Stephen Fry

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

An asterisk (*) denotes an event that is repeated every week/fortnight/month.

Exhibitions and longer runs

20 July 2019 until 19 April

Exhibition: Enfield at War 1939-45 (plus a programme of linked events and talks)

13 January until 29 May

Exhibition: Lost Enfield

14 February until 30 April

They Came Before Us exhibition: Can't Be What You Can't See

Wednesday 12 February until Saturday 22 February

Chickenshed: Monolog3 (not every day)

Monday 24 February

7.00pm - 8.45pm

London’s New River – neither new nor a river

Friday 28 February until Sunday 1 March

Bounds Green Window Show

Tuesday 3 March

8.00pm - 10.00pm

*Meeting of the Enfield Transport Circle

Sunday 8 March

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Music and Poetry for the Planet

Wednesday 11 March

11.00am - 12.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Sunday 15 March until Saturday 21 March

Incognito Theatre presents Charley's Aunt by Brandon Thomas

Tuesday 17 March

2.00pm - 3.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Monday 23 March

6.00pm - 7.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Thursday 2 April until Sunday 19 April

The Dugdale Theatre presents Goldilocks - starring the Three Bears (not every day)

Saturday 18 April

7.15pm

Poetry in Palmers Green

Sunday 19 April

2.30pm - 4.30pm

House plant sale in Broomfield Conservatory

Monday 20 April

9.30am - 12.30pm, 1.00pm - 4.30pm

Big Dig Day in the Broomfield Park Long Border

Thursday 14 May

10.00am - 2.00pm

Planning for Later Life Awareness Session

Sunday 17 May

2.30pm - 4.30pm

Music in the Conservatory

Saturday 23 May until Monday 25 May

9.00am - 6.00pm

The Enfield Pageant of Motoring

Saturday 11 July

10.00am - 7.00pm

Fancy Fair on Winchmore Hill Green

Saturday 25 July

Livestock Music Festival