Remember Me     Forgot Login?   Sign up  

Add your events

Just send an email with details and we'll add them.

chickenshed

talkies2

This event was in the past.  For current and future events visit our What's On Page

.

Sunday 27 January 10.45am - 4.00pm

Writing Masterclass: The Right To Write with Kiare Ladner

The Writing Room, Floor 3, Chocolate Factory 3, 40 Cumberland Road, N22 7SG  

haringey literature live masterclasses logo 1

On the last Sunday of the month (excepting August and December) Haringey Literature Live runs Writing Masterclasses at the Writing Room, each of which will go in-depth into a different area of writing. The Masterclasses are designed to stand alone, but will also work very well alongside HLL writing courses. Many of the Masterclasses are run in partnership with Ambit magazine, and will be lead by Ambit editors. 

The cost is £50 for the day, which includes tea/coffee/refreshments. The timings are 10.45am to 4pm with a break for lunch from 1-2pm.

The classes are open to Enfield residents.

photoWhat do you have the right to write about?

Having grown up in South Africa, Kiare has wrestled with this question for many years.

Do we have the right to portray characters whose lives take place in harder circumstances than our own? Do we have the responsibility to include these lives in our fictional worlds? What questions might we ask when writing about those more privileged than ourselves? And how can we approach general differences, such as gender or ability?

This masterclass will openly and respectfully discuss appropriation, research and emotional truth. It will also focus on practical suggestions for how to make our writing as powerful and authentic as it can be.

Kiare Ladner

Tweet Button facebook share button

PGC cannot guarantee that all What's On information is 100% accurate. If in doubt, we recommend you contact the organisers or visit their website using the More Details button.

At a Glance - Future Events

Click on the name of an event for more details

Exhibitions and longer runs

28 July 2018 until 22 April

Hidden Treasures: Revealing Broomfield House and Park

14 October 2018 until 31 March

Black Georgian Londoners: Portraits, People and Perceptions

3 April until 22 April

Easter Pantomime: Rapunzel

Saturday 23 March and Sunday 24 March

11.00am - 4.00pm

Lambing Weekend at Forty Hall Farm

Monday 25 March

7.45pm - 10.00pm

*Edmonton Camera Club

Thursday 28 March

10.30am

*The Arts Society Enfield: Monthly Lecture

4.00pm - 7.00pm

*Dr Bike bike checks

6.30pm - 7.45pm

*Pregnancy Yoga

Sunday 7 April

11.00am - 4.00pm

*Myddleton Road Market

Monday 8 April until Friday 12 April

Active Enfield Easter Activities for Kids

Friday 12 April

6.00pm - 9.00pm

*St Harmonica's Monthly Sunday Blues Jam

Monday 15 April until Thursday 18 April

Active Enfield Easter Activities for Kids

Thursday 18 April

10.00am

Open Day at Wood Green Crown Court

Saturday 20 April

6.00pm - 7.00pm

Cuppa with a Copper (Palmers Green ward)

Saturday 27 April

7.15pm

Poetry in Palmers Green

Monday 29 April

8.00pm - 10.00pm

Talk: Brickmaking in the Borough of Enfield

Tuesday 30 April until Saturday 4 May

ELODS presents On the Town

Saturday 4 May

7.30pm

Live music: The Afrocentrics

Sunday 5 May

11.00am - 7.00pm

East European Fair

Saturday 27 July

Livestock 2019